top of page
Writer's pictureCee

Milk Pudding Dessert | Indian Kheer Recipe


Kheer is a type of pudding usually cooked with rice where I'm from, but I’ve always preferred this version. I don’t like too much rice in my kheer so I add very little as you’ll see in the recipe.I prefer the creamy and smooth consistency that the condensed milk lends to the dish & the little rice that I do add, makes for interesting texture when you find it in bits and pieces. The dish is best served chilled and you can add dry fruits of your choice as toppings. Enjoy!


INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 litre milk

  • 2 bay leaves

  • 4 cardamom pods

  • 1 cup water

  • 150g condensed milk

  • 1/2 cup rice

  • Dry fruit toppings (optional)

PROCEDURE:


1.Add 1l milk to a cooking pot on low heat.


2.Add bay leaves, cardamom pods, water, condensed milk and rice.


3.Boil on low heat for 1.5hours stirring occasionally everytime it starts to come to a boil. Cooking it for this long allows it to reduce to a thick creamy consistency.


4.When it turns to a yellowish color (from the condensed milk), turn off heat.



5.Transfer to a serving dish and let cool.


6.Garnish with dry fruits of your choice and serve chilled. Enjoy!


Watch recipe video below:





1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page